Old May 7, 2003, 23:33   #1
JPGray
Settler

Local Time: 00:59
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Pacifist strategies for Monarch+ early game?
I'm not much of a warmonger early game, so I tend to play the AI off one another to stay even in expansion and score. I keep a mostly defensive military, and inevitably the stronger AI will pick on me and declare war. Once this happens, it is a relatively easy matter to have the greedy neighbors of the offending civ to sign alliances against it. But this seems less and less viable on the later levels. Do I need to develop my ancient war game to be competitive in later levels? I've found playing huge with 16 on Monarch and above very difficult, perhaps for this reason?

For some background, I am a novice. I just got back into playing, and finished my first ever game on Regent with a humble 6117 (Space Race) playing Iroqouis. It was a huge pangea map with 16 civs and I found ancient warfare easy and enjoyable with Mounted Warriors, and eased diplomatic relations by either returning worthless jungle cities or eliminating enemies entirely. I finished up with about 40% of the map, and only about three or four remaining opponents, having eliminated most of them. I am aware of the basic aspects of warfare, such as combined arms, etc. but am having trouble with waging an effective ancient campaign. Is this totally necessary in the later difficulties? It seems to be impossible to remain both peaceful and competitive without an early war on the harder difficulties.
Old May 8, 2003, 00:38   #2
peterfharris
GalCiv Apolyton Empire
Prince

I think ancient war becomes increasingly desirable as the difficulty level rises. I find it is not needed at Chieftain and Warlord, desirable at Regent, highly desirable at Monarch, indispensable at Emperor (I will probably lose the game anyway but a successful early war helps immensely) and at Diety I just lose.
Old May 8, 2003, 01:40   #3
Chieftain

Local Time: 19:59
Local Date: November 1, 2010