Though I agree it's soooo dry...

Mis Novias
Old May 9, 2003, 01:32   #92
loinburger
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

Local Time: 21:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I showed the link to the CS people in the lab today, and they were pretty incredulous about CS being in second place. 'Course, they're all Indians (except for the Taiwanese guy, and the girl from Bangladesh (which you should not mistake for India, though the mistake will not get you castrated as quickly as it would were she from Pakistan)), so their "salary sense" might be a bit off yet. They were duly upset over EE being in first place, though, since the EE people are all ****ers.
Old May 9, 2003, 01:33   #93
loinburger
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

It's ****ing incredible that they censor out "****." I suppose I ought to have said "EE people are all chronic masturbators."
Old May 9, 2003, 01:41   #94
Frogman
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:02
I majored in Chemical Engineering 20 years ago. At the time the average salary starting out was 27k. Now I make 110k but I'm in sales and not really doing engineering. One field not enough people think about is sales. I sell chemicals and anyone with a chemistry or chem eng. background and 5 years experience can bring down 60k in sales. You're not stuck behind a desk, you visit all sorts of different companies, and really learn whats out there.

I thought I'd go back for an MBA but I'm glad I didn't. I wouldn't trade 40 hours in a cubicle for the office in my home.

The issue for me now is what advice to give my 17 year old daughter. No math or science for her she says though she does well in it. Its a little tougher with girls, they got the family life thing to consider more than the guys do. Whats a good major for girls who want to raise a family at the same time or have something to go back to? She's thinking about law.
Old May 9, 2003, 01:55   #95
Kramerman
Prince

Local Time: 19:02