Old May 15, 2003, 13:01   #1
BeBro
Emperor

Local Time: 03:35
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Damn scepticism...
...or "How can you possibly be a scepticist?"

Philosophers, for what is scepticism good? Some people seem to think it is the best excuse to avoid knowledge. I sometimes experience this kind of people when I give arguments in a debate, and they canīt counter them. So their last refuge is to say something like "But we canīt know anything for sure!". Great!

As a philosophical amateur I think scepticism is a good way to avoid "totalitarian" POVs (esp. in political or ethical discussions), and in that way I think it is very useful. I think it is good to have in mind that one *could* be wrong, but in real life thereīs always a point when you have to make decisions or judgements. But how do you get these decisions or judgements when youīre always in doubt about them? Or at which point (philosophical) do you/can you leave the doubts behind you?

What sense does it make to refer always to the problem that there is a possibility that the world out side doesnīt exist? Isnīt it enough that most of us would think it exists (as long as we still have in mind that it is possible to question that reality)?

As said the biggest problem for me is not scepticism in natural science, but when it comes to ethical stuff, because I think it is somehow annoying when one counters arguments against the most stupid (yeah, I know it is all subjective ) positions with a general attack on what can we know at all...

Thanks
Old May 15, 2003, 13:08   #2
loinburger
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

Local Time: 21:35
Local Date: November 1, 2010
At some point extreme skepticism will begin to interfere with your ability to function in everyday society. At that point (if not a bit sooner) you've taken it too far, unless, of course, you become a hermit, in which case ethics really don't matter anymore (who're you going to harm if you're living in a cave somewhere?).
Old May 15, 2003, 13:33   #3