Old May 28, 2003, 18:27   #1
reynoldsmj
Settler

Local Time: 02:32
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Emporor Level Difficulty
I have been playing CIVIII for a couple of years and it is always a game I can go back to and play again. However, I have never been able to win on the emporor level in the game. It seems every AI player trade techs willingly, blatantly do not trade with me, etc. Therefore, even if I am able to keep from being crushed, I am always so far behind in technology, that I cant catch up in power and have never been able to finish higher than the middle of the pack. Any suggestions welcome! I neglected to mention that I am playing CIV III PTW, which is important as AI did get better in PTW.

Last edited by reynoldsmj; May 29, 2003 at 09:05.
Old May 28, 2003, 18:49   #2
monkeyman
Apolyton University
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:32
Local Date: November 1, 2010
hi,

One thing I picked up is that tiny world is quite a bit easier for my playstyle. Try it, it may help you ease into emperor. I suppose normal world size with fewer civs might also help.

As for strategy...

try to take advantage of the ai's military ineptness. emphasize overwhelming concentrated forces, fast units to attack, fortified defenders on good terrain, proper use of artillery.

also, patience. The ai cannot manage cities nearly as well as a good human (just check out their cities when establishing embassies ). Time is your ally. as long as you are alive, you should be closing the gap created by the ai's bonuses at the beginning of the game.

don't burn too much time building wonders. it is possible to build a lot of them, but the sheilds are usually better spent on other things, other things that you are guaranteed to have once the sheilds are invested .