Old June 10, 2003, 21:47   #31
Joseph
King

Local Time: 20:15
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by obiwan18

I grew up on a farm in Rural Canada, different in many ways than what Joseph lived through, but very similar in others.
Grew up on a Dairy, 10 miles south of Modesto. Ca.

Quote:
The schools could have been mine, at least elementary school.
My school was First to Eight, 1/4 of a miles from my house. 200 or so students top.

Quote:
I guess I've led a sheltered life growing up, and I'm thankful for some of the stuff I got to do.
Me to, to a degree.

Quote:
Didn't watch much TV, during the long summers since we only had two channels. Much more fun to read a book.
Did not have a TV until the Fall of 1958. I was a Freshman in High School.

Quote:
Why play music on long trips? My dad would play his radio and listen to his 60's songs that we would all listen too, and try to remember all of the words.

I can remember long trips that I would read a book solid for maybe 5 hours, and not want to get out because the book engrossed me completely.
No trips, unless the school took me somewhere. Had to clean the barns each day and help sometimes with the cows. No dad, but we had a radio.

Quote:
Joseph, thanks for your posts. Where would any of us be without nostalgia, and yearning for simpler times?

Thanks for the reminder.
Old June 10, 2003, 21:49   #32
MRT144
inmate
DiploGames
King

Quote:
Originally posted by Joseph
Don't count on it.
why get all misty then over something youll never have back? do you want to return to those times? if so just shoot yourself and get along to heaven, where the beach boys play infinite sets and the summers never end.
Old June 10, 2003, 22:12   #33
Joseph
King

Quote:
Originally posted by MRT144

Why get all misty then over something you'll never have back? do you want to return to those times? If so just shoot yourself and get along to heaven, where the beach boys play infinite sets and the summers never end.