Old June 12, 2003, 08:00   #31
Q Classic
Emperor

Local Time: 22:28
Local Date: November 1, 2010
i suppose one does have to warm those frigid canadian women...
Old June 12, 2003, 09:53   #32
lord of the mark
Deity

Local Time: 23:28
Quote:
Originally posted by HershOstropoler

"that access to information is still far freer in America than it is in Britain, that immigrants are far better treated in America than in Britain, and that democracy remains a more open affair in America than in Britain."

The first claim has some merit, the second one is dubious, the third is just absurd.

LOTM- im not sure the 3rd claim is absurd. Hard to tell since its not clear exactly what she was referring to. Certainly it has been widely held that the American primary system makes political parties more responsive to popular sentiment on many issues then the Brit system - debatable im sure, but not absurd.

AS for the immigrants im no expert on Brit immigration treatment - are you? again its not clear specifically what shes talking about - i suppose publicized asylum cases - i dont know.

"the economic freedom and political openness that many admire."

Economic freedom, debatable. Political openness, absurd.

LOTM - ditto above - I think.

Why couldn't she manage without that nonsense? Almost every article from the US has this "greatest nation on earth" mantra in it.
Well she didnt say the US is the greatest nation on earth - and she said that that was how she should have responded to the BBC interviewer's absurd question - it was what we call in English a "comeback".

The general tone was not at all jingoistic. She made some points that were mild in context, and were all arguable, i think. She did not make a full argument - or even clarify what she meant - i dont think it makes her jingoistic.
Old June 12, 2003, 11:43   #33
The Templar
Prince

Quote:
Originally posted by GePap