Old June 29, 2003, 14:00   #1
FireWall
Settler

Local Time: 23:46
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Unable to Win a Game on Moderate - Advice Needed
I'm relatively new to Rise of Nations, and as the title of this thread explains, I'm unable to win a game on moderate.

Every time I play I am defeated by an enemy army. Lately I have been able to fend off one or two invasions, but they usually overcome me on the third try. I am quite skilled at Civilization II and III, but I tend to play poorly when I try real time strategies. Is there some jist to this game that I am not getting?

I always start off by researching Science 1, and then either Civic 1 or Military 1 depending on whether I decide to rush or not. When I rush I tend to do a little better, as I always manage to kill many enemy civilians and slow him down. However, it isn't long before he begins sending armies and crushing me. If I concentrate on building military units throughout the game, he always pulls ahead of me in technology and sends a more advanced army to defeat me.

I usually play as either the Inca or Mongols. I only pick Mongols if I decide to rush ahead of time. I normally only begin building an army in late Medieval, because I concentrate on building cities and not letting the enemy possess more territory than I do. I always build one tower in every city, and make sure I get attrition early. It's certainly safe to say that I concentrate on infrastructure more than I do building military units. Perhaps this is the mistake I am making. Should I be building military units from the beginning of the game, and if so what units do you suggest I build? When I build an army, I tend to do it all at once. Should I be building it up gradually as the game progresses?

I can win on Easy every time with no trouble at all, so it seems silly to me that I am being defeated so early and frequently on Moderate.