Old July 1, 2003, 03:29   #1
Luke Gevaerts
Settler

Local Time: 04:51
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Excuse me, help appreciated...
For starters, allow me to quickly introduce myself: I'm Luke Gevaerts, and I've recently started to explore the magnificent work of Civ2 scenario design.

Setting: after playing Captain Nemo's brilliant "Red Front", I figured it might be nice to create a scenario that covers the fighting in just one city - for example, Stalingrad. The idea is simple, yet doing it is not: take a small map, fill it with city-like terrain (graphical modifications nescessary, naturally), position Nazi and Soviet cities and units... Etcetera. The graphical part is where I go wrong. Much as I hate to say it, I'm a crappy graphics designer - but I would like to improve.

Question: I was attempting to alter the way the ocean borders are displayed. Right now, it's the basic green borderline, but I would like to change it to a grey, dock-line-like outcropping that contains the water. I'd like to try it myself - so could anybody give me advice on how to create good-looking graphics with pixels? Thanks in advance.

Yours respectfully,

Luke Gevaerts
Old July 1, 2003, 07:37   #2
fairline
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
King

Not sure I can help with the terrain graphics Luke. Have a look through the non-unit graphics thread to see if there's anything there. As far as a Stalingrad scenario goes it may be of interest to know that Field Marshal Klesh had a playtest version completed and was working on a refined version when he stopped working on Civ. I used to have a copy and it's posted on a thread here somewhere. Try a search on Stalingrad or check through the Field Marshal's post list under his profile.
Old July 1, 2003, 11:46   #3
Stefan Härtel
Civilization II Democracy Game: ExodusScenario League / Civ2-Creation
King

Local Time: 05:51
Generally, it's very easy. In your particular case:
*The coastlines are in the file terrain.gif