Old July 10, 2003, 13:25   #1
UnOrthOdOx
PtWDG2 TabemonoPtWDG Glory of WarApolyton Storywriters' GuildIron CiversApolytoners Hall of FameC4BtSDG Rabbits of CaerbannogCiv4 SP Democracy GamePolyCast TeamC4DG The Mercenary TeamC4WDG The Goonies
Emperor

Local Time: 23:26
Local Date: November 1, 2010
The Trappings of War: Volume XXI
The Trappings of War: Volume XXI
An UnOrthOdOx View of the Glory of War

I knelt quietly, taking in the beauty as the Moonlight streaming in through the slots in the ceiling reflected off the bronze plating, casting an eerie silver glow across the entire Temple.

I studied the mural that Aro had painted, contemplating whether I had been right to kill such a magnificent beast. I could see all the benefits that had come to the town as a result. Food and oil from the body, tools and building materials from the bones, clothing and armor from the skin, yes, this was a true bounty. The Dragon’s spirit, however, had somehow tapped itself into my soul. I knew I would always be haunted by it, that would be my curse for killing a God. It was one I would carry proudly, however, should it bring a better life to the people. I hoped that this Temple would stand as a testament to the fact that these WERE Gods, that our people may never forget that in the years to come when harvesting these Dragons would become an ordinary occurrence. We should always honor them, despite the need to take their lives.

“I thought I might find you here.”

“Hey, Aro.”

Aro came up and sat next to me, studying my face. “So, you finally believe it was a God?”

“I suppose.” I grinned “never would have expected that, huh?”

“No, not from an ornery old ass like you. Mind telling me what happened that night?”

I shook my head. “I’m not entirely sure at this point. Seems that our friend here has somehow become a part of me…I see things now…can feel his death…perhaps even my own.”