Old July 11, 2003, 12:24   #1
OzzyKP
staff
ApolyCon 06 ParticipantsDiploGamesPolyCast TeamCivilization IV: MultiplayerC4DG The Mercenary TeamApolytoners Hall of Fame
ACS Staff Member

Local Time: 01:30
Local Date: November 2, 2010
September 11 - The Day the World Changed
I've been toying with the idea of making a scenario based on the current state of the world. But as I am a novice at scenario design I'd love to get some help/advice from the group.

All I've done so far is place cities, and set their population to correct amounts to be accurate for today.

The civs are America, America's allies (Japan, UK, Israel, S. Korea, Taiwan, Canada, Australlia & New Zeeland), Continental Europe, Russia, China, India, and the Arab World. The map looks really nice so far.

The scenario will begin on either September 11 or September 12. With the hyperpower of the US awakened and pissed off. The easy plot is US vs. Arab. However I want all the other hot spots in the world involved as well. North vs. South Korea. China vs. Taiwan. Pakistan vs. India. Russia vs. Chechnya.

I'm unsure how to handle this scenario though, it can't just be a straight battle scenario because the US would easy destroy everyone. It would work well as a multiplayer diplogame, but those aren't played much anymore, and I'm not sure how much scenarios are even played in MP. The key to this scenario as I envisioned it was a diplomatic one. Basically the fight is not just between the combatants, but the true battle is to sway the onlookers. Just as we've seen with the recent war in Iraq.

Sure the US could tromp over the Arab world, but that could piss off Europe, China, Russia, etc. Will this turn into a world war? What will the alliances be? Plus warfare has to be totally rethought to include non-traditional warfare. Assassinations, suicide bombing, terror tactics, public opinion, etc.

So what does everyone think? Is this scenario even possible? How can it be done?