Old August 10, 2003, 14:23   #1
skuzzy
Settler

Local Time: 02:10
Local Date: November 2, 2010
General Overall Problems
I just started playing the game recently, such as the past couple weeks... I started out oblivious like I always do and played a few games on simple mode to get a better understanding of the game. I moved on for a couple games in Monarch and had no problems. And the game is much more war oriented than Civ2 so it's been a big change with the AI. I jump right to Deity so I can get a real grasp on the game but after a lot of games I still fail to accomplish anything. I get out wondered, out built, out teched, out armed, outright pwned. After reading the forums the last couple days and learning to out tech the AI is impossible on harder levels of play my strategy is early peaceful expansion and try to build up my units when all my territory is filled. But eventually I fall so far behind it's impossible to catch up. I am too stubborn to move from Deity to Emperor (I guess it's just because I was so easily able to crush the AI on Deity with Civ2) but in anycase for you experienced players what would you suggest I do. Does anyone really play Deity? Oh, by the way I'm using 1.21f if that helps anything.
Old August 10, 2003, 14:26   #2
Theseus
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton UniversityApolytoners Hall of FameBtS Tri-LeagueC4DG Gathering StormApolyCon 06 Participants
Emperor

Local Time: 03:10
Location: The warmonger formerly known as rpodos. Gathering Storm!
skuzzy, try poking around here:

http://apolyton.net/forums/showthrea...threadid=59216
The greatest delight for man is to inflict defeat on his enemies, to drive them before him, to see those dear to them with their faces bathed in tears, to bestride their horses, to crush in his arms their daughters and wives.

Duas uncias in puncta mortalis est.
Old August 10, 2003, 15:14   #3
Hagbart
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton Team
Prince

Local Time: 08:10
The AI cheats on higher levels.