Old August 13, 2003, 10:25   #1
MrFun
Emperor

Local Time: 02:19
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Where were you in life, five years ago?
Last month was Apolyton's fifth anniversary.

I was wondering -- where were you in life, five years ago? Anyone who is an Apolytoner is free to join in this thread -- whether they were a Chieftan five years ago, or if they had not even found out about Apolyton yet, but is a member now.

Five years ago, it was about a month before I would come out to my family and friends as a gay man.

I was 20, I had an Associate's Degree in Computer Information Processing from a community college. But I was not happy, since I realized on the day that I graduated, that I chose the wrong major/field.

I felt like I was going to get stuck into a job/career that was going to be boring for me. This was before I even realized that I would go to a four-year college to pursue my real passion -- American history.

Five years ago, I had a lot less self-confidence and self-esteem than I have now. I feel so much better about myself at the present, than I did five years ago.

So how far have you gone over the past five years?
Old August 13, 2003, 10:48   #2
Harry Seldon
GalCiv Apolyton EmpireNationStates
King

Local Time: 07:19
I was a drug addict and an alcoholic with a determined self-fufilling prophecy to be dead by the time I was twenty-four. I lived in a ****-hole apartment where my only furniture was the "Captain's Chair" (a glide rocker), a lamp I had to take from room to room because it was the only light I had, a mattress, and a small b/w tv. Around this time I met my wife and she helped me get my **** together. I went back to school, got a "career" job, and moved to a different ****-hole apartment in a better area with better rent. I also got married and started playing soccer again.
Old August 13, 2003, 10:58   #3
Immortal Wombat
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Prince

Local Time: 08:19
I was 13. I prefer not to remember.
Old August 13, 2003, 10:59   #4
Alex