Old March 28, 2000, 12:08   #1
vik
Prince

Local Time: 05:55
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Total newbie questions on scenarios
Wow, I'm glad I found this area -- I usually hang out in the civ2 strategy section. Thanks to all of you contributers. I have just a few questions I will post here, then I will check the archives. I know that's backwards, but I don't have a lot of time, and the archives are expansive. I will sort through them gradually, but if I can get some answers sooner, then that's just great.

Question 1: I have ver 2.4.2. I want to make scenarios in which other players can download and play them with out having to backup the "cities.txt" and "units.gif" and so on. Is this possible?

Question 2: Just how finicky is the "units.gif" or all the other ".gif" files? Just viewing them, they seem really precise, but I'm wondering what types of errors will lead to a big crash.

Question 3: What is the procedure for replacing the default AI leader pictures. I would love to replace the female American leader's unflattering picture (currently the default is an underwhelming Eleanor Roosevelt) with a picture of my choosing. I would love to have someone like Marilyn Monroe or even (heh heh) Jenna Jameson pop up when contact with the "Americans" is made.

Question 4: Would anyone care to post some good places to get a variety of 2.4.2 scenarios. I am a great cutter-n-paster, and am great at controlled plagiarism as it applies here. At a minimum, I might be able to get some ideas to help get me on the right path.

thanks
Old March 28, 2000, 17:04   #2
Civfan
Civilization II MultiplayerCivilization II PBEM
Prince

Well first off, update your Civ2. Heres the site for doing such a thing. http://www.angelfire.com/ga/hiciv/

Most scenarios use Fantast Worlds version (Well the good scenario's anyways) and Scenario League/Civilization Scenario Collection which are part of this great community Apolyton have the best scenarios around.