Old September 11, 2003, 00:47   #1
snoochems
Chieftain

Local Time: 08:34
Local Date: November 2, 2010
How do i play civ 3 the way i want to play it?
I'm a civ veteran. Ever since civ 1, through to civ CTP and SMAC.

Those games, i was frustrated at the lack of AI. They AI was stupid, and unchallenging.

When Civ 3 came out, i got sick of it pretty quickly because of a few reasons that look to have been since fixed up with the latest 1.29 patch. So here i am playing it again.

but i want to play a game where the planet is HUGE. I don't mean huge as in the games version of 'huge'. I'm thinking of something like 4x that size.

Is that possible. In SMAC, you could open up a txt file and modify away, but unfortunately, the game didn't like BIG maps (anything over 256x256) and i would constantly have the AI do something half way though the game that made it lock up. Very annoying.

Anyways, considering Civ 3 is newer, i thought it may be possible to enjoy a HUGE game, without the problems i had in SMAC.

If it is, then is it possible to modify the corruption you get in cities for being to far away from the capital? Obviously, with a map 4x the size, you'll want to halve the capital distance penalties. Can this be done too.

Why would i want that? Well, i just have a fetish for HUGE epic style games, where even in the modern era, it takes 10 turns to get to that continent ruled by the AI.

At the moment, i play on a 'huge' map with only 5 AI. Which is kind of the civ/land ratio i'm looking for.

Another thing you guys may be able to help me with is, How many cities can you have in Civ 3? Is there a limit where things start to get ugly?