Old October 1, 2003, 16:11   #31
Maniac
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameC4DG Team Alpha CentauriansACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessACDG Planet University of TechnologyPolyCast TeamACDG3 Spartans

Local Time: 10:55
Local Date: November 2, 2010
I agree with Corellion.

Impaler, I tend to disagree with you when you say we have become elitist. Take people such as Kody or HongHu. They did not participate in the first ACDG and IIRC started as complete newbies on the second ACDG. Now they are fully integrated forum regulars, and among the most active ACDG members. A more recent example is Phenix. He joined the Consciousness when this game was already busy for some 30 years or so. Yet now he already knows perfectly how things are run, is a respected cyborg and actively participates in the discussions.

So my advise would simply be: pick a faction of your choice and just start posting your opinion or ask concrete questions. You will quickly learn how things are dealt with and will quickly be accepted by the rest of the group.
Old October 1, 2003, 16:43   #32
jtsisyoda
ACDG The Free DronesAlpha Centauri PBEMAlpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG3 Morgan
King

Local Time: 03:55
I agree with Corellion, too, that the teams work as their factions might. Foreman Buster of the Drones, for example, is all business and does a boatload of real work posting info on the turn and suggesting strategy, like a true Drone. Our work plan allows us to finish the turn and pass it on as fast as anyone. And he's not one for spam i mean propaganda like the Hivesters.

I joined late, and picked my faction based on wanting to learn more about a faction I don't play much. Plus I didn't want to pick a big team because I wanted to have more influence.
Old October 1, 2003, 18:39   #33
Kody
ACDG The Human HiveACDG3 Data AngelsACDG3 GaiansACDG3 MorganACDG3 SpartansACDG3 CMNs
Emperor

Local Time: 18:55