Old September 19, 2003, 22:36   #1
geniemalin
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:00
Local Date: November 2, 2010
[Relative Newbie] Abandon City?
As a relative newbie i have really enjoyed and learnt a lot from the forum regulars - so thank you!

I have a quick question, though, which I haven't seen any reference to - sometimes there is an 'Abandon City' option when right-clicking on a city, which can be really useful at times; other times the option doesn't appear, and when I try to build a settler with pop=2 or worker with pop=1 it doesn't even offer to abandon city, just automatically waits until the city grows.

Is there some explanation for this? Is there any way round it (other than giving the city to another Civ then raznig it)?

Thanks for any advice!
Old September 19, 2003, 22:59   #2
Tassadar500
Emperor

Local Time: 02:00
Ok you are not allowed to build a settler until your city is at pop 3 because a settler takes 2 pop away. I don't know what you are talking about when you said sometimes you can't.
Old September 20, 2003, 00:04   #3
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 05:00
I think you have to drop to size 1 after popping a worker or a settler or starving to be able to select abandon. I forget, so that may not be the whole story.
So if you are at size 2, you can never abandon. If it is growing and at size 2 you could build a settler and when it pops, you should be able to abandon. I can't remember the last time I used abandon, so don't bet on it.
Old September 20, 2003, 00:44   #4
geniemalin
Chieftain

Quote:
Originally posted by Nuclear Master
Ok you are not allowed to build a settler until your city is at pop 3 because a settler takes 2 pop away. I don't know what you are talking about when you said sometimes you can't.
When at population 2 building a settler, sometimes it will offer you an option screen - 'Wait until population grows' or 'Abandon city' if I recall correctly.

I will try to get that screen up and take a screenshot.