Old June 25, 2000, 23:22   #1
DirkZelwis
Chieftain

Local Time: 06:00
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How to have 80+ units in a game
Hello!
I don't know whether this has been said before, as this is my first try into this part of Apolyton. And I don't know if it's got any special use for you. The idea is based heavily on Captain Nemo's "RedFront". And this seemed to be the best place to put the idea.

How to have 80+ units in a standard game or scenario? In a standard game, we have 3 different ages in weapons development. These 3 are: Before gunpowder, before mobile arms, and after mobile arms. These "turning points" are highlighted by the obsolescence of barracks. The idea is, to remove all units from "before gunpowder" from the game (around 1500 A.D. should be a nice date) before the first "after mobile arms" comes up. One doesn't build Phalanxes or Triremes around 1500, nor does one build Howitzers or Bombers. One simply doesn't need those units in that period of the game! What you would need is 2 sets of "units.gif" and 2 sets of "rules.txt". Set1 has units.gif + rules.txt for "before gunpowder" and "before mobile arms" time frame, Set2 has it for "before mobile arms" and "after mobile arms". And you switch from Set1 to Set2 around 1500 A.D.
I can see two possible problems. First, the computer players have to be in the "time frame" too. Second, the military advisor (key F2) will show wrong numbers and units, especially in "fatalities".
As English is not my mother language, did I make the idea clear? And is there any use for it?
Bye, Dirk
"Dirks and Daggers."

[This message has been edited by DirkZelwis (edited June 25, 2000).]
Old June 25, 2000, 23:40   #2
PolarisGL
King

In "Gettysburg" I simply switched on Free Support for Fundamentalism for every unit and made both the CSA and USA fundamentalist with titles of Major General Robert E. Lee and Major General George G. Meade.