Old October 5, 2003, 10:37   #1
WackenOpenAir
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:57
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Difficulty levels
sometimes i read posts here about people talking about being ready to move on to regent and stuff, even after playing a very long time.

If i read threads about the AU games, some posters make it look like extra restrictions (the restrictions made by AU) are needed to make the game chalenging, even on deity.

So where exactly lies the truth in this?

for me:
I don't play a lot, i bought civ3 a while ago, dunno could be 1 year, could be 2 years. i started playing on deity because i play every strategy game on the hardest difficulty. Got my ass kicked. Gathered all info about the game i could find, played a bit more on deity and learned from my mistakes. after about 3 weeks, i won my first deity conquest game on a normal size map and went back to my starcraft addiction.
I don't remember how i won that game back then, i had a lot less info than i have now, i guess quite some luck must have been involved.
So now i stated playing again (deity of course) gathered some new information and i can do pretty wel on deity but only for the following reasons:
-i reevaluate the big strategical picture every few turns.
-i check all my cities and the diplomacy screen every turn
-for important decisions, i might just stop playing and read the forums a while, and continu playing the next day.

So if all of that carefull playing is needed for me to beat deity, i can conclude, compared to other strategy games, civ3 is pretty hard for me on deity.

So i kinda wonder,
-do i misinterpret posts when they make it look like deity should be easy?
-do the posters that make deity look easy lie, brag or both?
-is there so much more for me to learn before i can play and win deity in a more comfortable way?
Old October 5, 2003, 11:35   #2
Tall Stranger
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton University
Warlord

Local Time: 05:57
A few thoughts: