Old August 3, 2000, 04:49   #1
SCDARS
Civilization II Multiplayer
Warlord

Local Time: 07:01
Local Date: October 31, 2010
A new ancient scenario to come
Here I'm presenting a preview of a project I have been working on for about 2 years [at least if you count in all remakes and early tries ]. It is currently being play-tested, and I regret for now it's only available in German, but I hope I will be able to offer an English version a few weeks, but the English as well as the release date might be retarded since my holydays end in two weeks .

The Topic/ historical Background:
The scenario is going to last from the Samnitian capture of the Etruscan Capua in 424 BC until 146 BC, when both Carthage and Corinthos were destroyed by the Romans. That meant they controlled nearly the whole area covered by the map. But it's not a classic "Rise of Rome scenario", as it is mainly concerned with the other tribes, especially focusing on the Etruscans who have somehow been neglected by scenarios yet. In this scenario their towns bear original Etrsucan names (as far as I could retrace them), and at the beginning they are favoured by some wonders - but they shouldn’t rely on them too much, because the wonders could become obsolete or the cities might even get lost… [-> HINT... ]
The Etruscans’ main concern will be the Celtic hordes whose advance will be difficult to stop since they’re using some good attacking forces (their main attacker, the cheap-to-build “plunderer”, is a missile type unit -> in order to prevent them from getting too strong); in field battle their chieftain with his surrounding horde is almost invincible… But the Celts won’t be the only Etruscan enemy – the Carthaginians are their sole allies, the other nations are likely to attack them… They will attempt to take advantage of the Etruscans’ weakness.