Old October 23, 2003, 22:14   #31
Dominae
BtS Tri-LeaguePtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering StormApolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

Local Time: 07:05
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Not sure about you guys, but I do not distinguish much between "ally" and "enemy" in PBEM games; everyone is an "opponent" or, better, a "competitor". I try to treat my enemies with as much respect as my allies.

Renamed units are just plain annoying when you have to play against them on the battlefield. The Worker/Settler exploit is just insult to injury. Again, what's the big deal with leaving the base name of a unit untouched (for example, "Super Spearman of Death", or "Grog the Warrior")?

And, yes nye, I'm glad we're discussing these things, too. I misinterpreted the tone of your post as implying that there was no room for discussion on this issue.

Dominae
Old November 18, 2003, 16:15   #32
Brundlefly
Prince

Does everyone password-protect their turn? I am new to PBEM, so I dont know if it is common during a game to have a player just drop out of a game without telling anyone. I imagine it could be a problem to continue such a game if that person password-protected their turn... OTOH, if you dont use the password feature, you'd better be very certain that the person ahead of you within a turn is trustworthy...

One measure that could be taken to reduce damage of reload exploit is to make sure 'Preserve Random Seed' is checked whenever creating PBEM game. But you guys probably knew that...

Regarding combat logs, it would be a nice feature to include within a future patch of c3c. I picture a modified MIlitary Advisor screen which shows battle result summary and detail of all battles in the past turn in which you were the defender. Optionally would include a video replay of each battle.
Old November 21, 2003, 11:03   #33
alva
Civilization III PBEMPtWDG2 Cake or Death?PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity