Old October 24, 2003, 08:31   #1
Harried&Tired
Settler

Local Time: 11:11
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Communications Failure
I just started playing SMAC again recently and I've had a bug pop up. Santiago declared Vendetta on me so I took one of her cities. As soon as one of my units approached one of her other cities the communications box pops up saying she'd like to talk to me. I hit ok, figuring I'd give her city back for a truce. But when I hit OK the communications box just pops up again. This happens about 3 times then Santiago says 'fine, I'll wipe the planet with you ' or something along those lines. This has happened about five or six times in this game now.

I remember this happening occasionally when I used to play. Anybody know if there's a way around this? I'm running SMAC with version 4.0. Nothing tweaked or anything.

I'd really like to get Santiago off my back since I'm sharing a continent with Lal who's being very prickly and Miriam is running amok on a fair sized continent and has had a long running hot/cold war with me for a while.
Thanks

My communications with Santiago have finally opened up (after she tried hitting me with 2 PB's). Oh, and I could talk to anybody else, just not the Spartans.

Last edited by Harried&Tired; October 24, 2003 at 09:08.
Old October 24, 2003, 09:50   #2
swillwater
Chieftain

Happens to me all the time, usually with the Hive, since they get tired of me constantly running democracy.

I have always interepreted it as follows: that relations between you and the other faction have got so bad, that you have no choice but to ignore their transmission.
Old October 25, 2003, 00:29   #3
gwillybj
Prince

Local Time: 07:11
Location: Eurytion Mining Camp: 100°C dayside, 100°F nightside.
I see that all the time. The multiple pop-ups always end with them declaring Vendetta, and my attempts to initiate dialog are ignored for several turns after.
Old October 26, 2003, 23:54   #4
Ancyrean
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:11